Unpublish a merge template

Unpublishing a merge template makes it so that it is no longer available in the template picker when using the Document Generation feature in the Drive Links lightning component.

A template can be unpublished for any number of reasons including but not limited to permanently retiring a merge template or correcting mistakes in a template that is published.

Note: If you are permanently unpublishing a Free template, don’t forget to also Unmark it as Free if you don’t intend on deleting it so you have another Free template slot available.

Unpublish a merge template from the Templates tab

  1. Navigate to the Drive Connect application in Salesforce
  2. Select the Template Builder tab
  1. Find the desired template
  2. Select the icon
  3. Select Unpublish; the templates will no longer be available for use in document generation. They will also appear greyed out in the Template Builder tab.

Unpublish a merge template from the Template Editor

  1. Navigate to the Drive Connect application in Salesforce
  2. Select the Template Builder tab
  1. Find the desired template
  2. Click the template card
  3. In the right hand corner of the Google Doc editor select the Status drop down and select Unpublish.